Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

Is everyone hanging out without me? Well, no, I promise you this is not currently a concern that I have because people still seem interested in hanging out with me. In case you didn’t know (as indicated by the picture), this is a book! I have been neglecting Reviewsday Tuesday because school is super hectic right now. I am finally catching up!!!

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) is written by Mindy Kalling and she is a comedian writer. Mindy has written episodes for The Office since the first season, and in this case I am talking about the American version, not the British version. She is also an actress on The Office in the later seasons. To be honest, I can’t really tell you a whole lot about her current acting role on the show because I am only at the beginning of season 2 of The Office, and I haven’t seen her there yet.

Any ways, Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) is pretty funny. It’s an autobiography about her life. Comedians actually write really good autobiographies, I read “Seriously, I’m Kidding” by Ellen DeGeneres and “Laughing All the Way to the Mosque” by Zarqa Nawag. For those of you who do not know, Zarqa is a producer for Little Mosque on the Prairie, a Canadian made show.

Without getting into details, Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) has a lot of stuff about being a quieter artsy person in high school. bullying, being “chubby” and gaining footing as a comedic writer after university. It is a good read. One of my favourite parts, even though it doesn’t really apply to me, was a chapter where Mindy gave advice to teenaged girls. It was a nice touch because, even though it was obvious, it was a great opportunity to be a good role model.

I highly recommend this book if you enjoy reading light hearted, funny books.

One thought on “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

  1. Pingback: 18 Books to Read If You Haven’t Already | Always Fire and Honey

Leave a Reply

