Gallivanting in Ecuador Part 3

The last part of my trip in Ecuador vacation as promised. I was planning to describe it all to you in more detail, but there were just so many things that happened in the last 10 days that I can’t possibly write about all of it in a single post and have it be coherent. I’ll provide the summary.

We did a tour in the Andes, which included visiting Cotopaxi, one of the biggest volcanoes in the world, I think. It’s massive. We stayed at Secret Garden Cotopaxi, which is this super quaint, rustic hostel with a stunning view of Cotopaxi across all these grassy fields with flowers. I tried hiking up Cotopaxi with everyone else but my inability to breath because of the altitude was making me sick, so I only made it to the refuge, it was an amazing experience nonetheless.

We stopped at this one place, who’s name is escaping me, it’s the town where one of the biggest markets in Ecuador, and I bought all these cool things, including 2 blankets for myself and my dad. Then made our way over to the coast after a day in Quito. We also visited the equator line in Ecuador, it was cool because we got to learn about the indigenous tribes and stand on the 0’ 0” 0” line (AKA equator).

On the coast we saw an indigenous village, swam in the ocean, went to Isla De Plato where we saw many blue footed boobies (a type of bird) and stuff like that.

I had about a day in Quito before I had to go home, and I flew to Panama City first. The layover in Panama City was around 22 hours, so I ended up getting a hotel and seeing the Panama Canal. Legitimately that’s all I wanted to do there, I know there’s other stuff to do in Panama City, but by the time I factored in sleeping and eating and getting to and from the airport and all that jazz, I only had about 8 hours left. Since I only had part of a day like that, I wanted to see the one thing that the city is the most famous for. So off I went on a fun little red double decker bus that would take me on a city tour. The only stop I got off at was the Panama Canal. It was very interesting, especially because a ship was going through about 2 minutes after I paid for the ticket to go inside. After that I walked all over the museum and learned about how they’re expanding the canal.

At the end of the day it was time for me to go home. So after one last plan ride and 4 weeks in Ecuador, I finally stood on Canadian soil again in the Pearson Airport in Toronto.

The trip to Ecuador was so amazing and so rewarding for a number of reasons. One of the most touching memories was when my sponsor kid offered to give me her rabbit and I was like “d’awwwwww….. but I can’t wah!” I wasn’t quite sure what I’d do with a rabbit for 3 weeks or how I’d explain that to the kind Canadian customs officer who wanted to know what was moving in my bag “like yeah, just please ignore Timmy the Rabbit. He’s mine now”. It people amaze me sometimes though, she wanted me to have the rabbit to remember her by which is probably one of the sweetest things I’ve ever been told because she has so little compared to me. My love of child sponsorship is a conversation for another time.

For now, I hope you enjoyed the last (albeit brief) portion of the Ecuadorian adventures!

Don’t forget to be awesome! – Andrea

Leave a Reply

