Disney musicals – Snow White and The Little Mermaid

My boyfriend and I saw Snow White and The Little Mermaid this weekend. Local productions but very well done, which is great cause we can’t always have Broadway musicals. I don’t think I can choose which musical was better because they were completely different – or as completely different as 2 musicals about Disney princesses can be.

Snow White was a panto musical – you get to boo at the villain and cheer the good guy. This was particularly amusing because so many kids were there and you always get those loud kids who yell out things like “don’t eat the apple” and such. Then the character who liked Snow but was made to do the evil queens bidding got the kids involved too. It was pretty funny with cheesy humour (mostly) and the odd adult joke where I wondered how the kids couldn’t understand it.

The Little Mermaid was a more traditional serious musical (except still funny at points, just not as unserious and cheesy as Snow White). They used all of the traditional Disney songs here (they used more current poppy hits for Snow White). I really liked the actress for Ursula and the actor for the chef at the palace.

Can I just say I find musicals super amusing at all times? I don’t think I’ve ever seen a musical I haven’t liked. Disney + musicals is the most amazing combination ever because both are super awesome. So for those of you who live near to me have about 5 days to see Snow White and The Little Mermaid, but seriously I would go see them if they show up anywhere ever because even with a different cast they’re going to amuse you – even if you don’t have kids, I’m promising that it will still be super amusing for you. I am in my 20s and still loved it, of course I still admittedly love Disney but I don’t think I know anyone who ever really grew out of Disney. We stopped liking other childish things, but Disney is forever and musicals are such an adult way to indulge in this greatness.

Leave a Reply

