Looking for Alaska by John Green

I finished my fourth and (hopefully temporarily) final John Green book. I had a reason to like John Green. He and Hank Green (his brother) are the vloggers of the YouTube channel, Vlog Brothers. Eventually, I figured out that he wrote The Fault in Our Stars. Apparently this was also going to be some kind of epic movie (TFIOS that is, not Looking For Alaska). So I promptly read the book. Then I figured out that there were more books by John Green and bought all 3. To be honest, I had no idea what the books were even about. I just bought them because A) I liked TFIOS and B) I think John Green is awesome – he’s funny and likes social issues. It was kind of interesting because I was going into these books with only the vaguest sense of what to expect. Usually when I read a book I don’t buy it for the author alone. I read the back flap first or I know it’s good cause it’s part of a series I have liked.

So far, John has yet to disappointment. He’s just awesome, and I don’t really give a damn if his books are for teenagers. He writes good books.

I realized I didn’t actually know what to expect in Looking For Alaska. I could tell the main kid, Miles, liked this girl, Alaska, and that they were doing this whole boarding school thing, that Alaska and Chip (aka the Colonel) were from poor families, that they liked drinking, pranks and sex/relationships. All normal teenager stuff. So I’m waiting for the catalyst. In TFOIS, that’s Hazel having cancer and then Gus’s cancer coming back. In Paper Towns, the point is very clearly always the search for Margo. In An Abundance of Katherine’s, the kid is recovering from a breakup that happened before the book started and he goes on a road trip to Tennessee. So that all makes sense. But in Looking for Alaska I could tell I hadn’t hit that monumental moment. I was almost half way in and still wondering (FYI, the moment is about 10 pages PAST half way, not before). I didn’t know what the story was building to because I never asked anyone and I didn’t even read the description provided by iBooks. I read John Green on principal.

I was actually floored by that moment. The moment where something happened to Alaska. I don’t really want to say what happens so that people can still read the book and enjoy it and be surprised. But let’s just say that I didn’t see it coming. It was yet another one of John Greens profound messages about life. This man has a seriously profound ability to make these really good stories and to be funny and witty while still making sure his audience is engaging in an important, deep, and philosophical questions in life

I would just say throw anything by John Green on your reading list and hop to it. Such good reads. Good luck.

5 thoughts on “Looking for Alaska by John Green

  1. Yes, yes, and yes. I don’t typically read young adult, especially romances (bleh), but I read John Green because I love he and Hank’s presence on VlogBrothers. I, unfortunately, had the monumental part of Looking for Alaska spoiled for me. (Some fan girl asking WHY?!?! on a totally irrelevant VlogBrothers video…) So I don’t think I got the full impact, but still a very good book.

    Like

    • I totally agree. Since I am in my early 20’s, the appeal of YA novels are largely lost on me. That said, John is great. I am so glad that the pivotal moment was not ruined for myself. It was devastating. I sat there on a plane being all sad and telling my boyfriend “what?! What?! Who the hell does that to a character like that in a YA book?! Why?! The sadness!! This isnt ok” but because its John and I love his books, I moved on.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: 18 Books to Read If You Haven’t Already | Always Fire and Honey

Leave a Reply

