Voyager by Diana Gabaldon *spoilers*

The third book in the Outlander series, Voyager, felt tiresome. I loved it because I love history and Jamie and Claire and their adventures. I say it is tiresome because it is so, so long. Given how I am a full time student with an internship, a relationship, and it other interests, I find that it’s much easier to read books that are no more than 575 pages, more or less. A book that is over 1200 pages becomes harder to get through because it takes weeks or months to read it, especially when you stop reading it every 300-500 pages to read a different book. Voyager was 1271, not including the excerpt from the next book, and that is according to the number that my tablet choose based upon text size. 

I believe I would have had an easier time of it if I had just read this book in April when school was done. The story is truly enjoyable and interesting to me. I only have a problem with the length. Jamie and Claire have now sailed to the New World, aka the Caribbean and USA. Lots of things happened to get them there and I am so excited to see where they will be in the next book. The year is 1768, or close to it, which means that the USA is close to the civil war. Intrigue is upcoming. Wahwahwahhhhh. 

As a final note, I was pleased to see John Grey again. It took me so long to read the book that I assumed his character had played its part. I will be interested to see if I meet him again in the next book. 

I don’t want my complaint about length to deter anyone. Just read it when you have the time for such a big book, not doing so was my boo boo. 

One thought on “Voyager by Diana Gabaldon *spoilers*

  1. Pingback: 18 Books to Read If You Haven’t Already | Always Fire and Honey

Leave a Reply

