Spamalot, a must see musical

I saw a local production of Spamalot this weekend, and it was just as awesome as I remember it being when I saw it for the first time in New York City. I last saw it 8 years ago and loved it.

Spamalot is based on a movie, Monty Python and the Holy Grail. It’s so hilarious. Spamalot is basically King Arthur finding his knights and trying to find the Holy Grail. There is a killer bunny rabbit, Sir Galahad discovers he is gay and meets his love, Sir Robin discovers a love for Broadway and musical theatre, King Arthur discovers love. And honestly, it’s so funny, right from the “I’m not dead yet” scene (well, before that really) to the very end. It’s always refreshing to go to a musical that is hilarious and for adults, although to be fair, I also love the tragedies.

I also am always super impressed with the local¬†productions. I have seen Les Miserables, Snow White, The Little Mermaid, Waiting for Godot, and now Spamalot all by this company and it’s always been impressive. It’s a great reminder that you don’t have to go to Toronto or New York City to see amazing theatre (not that I would ever turn down a Broadway production, cause seriously…)

I honestly do not know what my favourite part of Spamalot is. It’s one of those things where you just laugh so much. I would find a way to see the show yourself and see what is the funniest in your opinion. I personally love the “I’m not dead yet” scene – this guy is dying, an is trying to explain how he’s not dead yet. But there is also another scene where Sir Robin and his mom are carrying on about social rights and democracy and are protesting that King Arthur is king just because some weird lady in a lake gave him a sword. It’s actually so funny cause it’s kind of pointing out the irony of that logic and pointing out a social flaw but is super funny. However, like I said, there is so much hilarity all over the show so check it out.

Leave a Reply

