‘Paper Towns’; Night on the Towns premiere event

Paper Towns trailer

Paper Towns is here and John is a ball of anxiety

Hello good people of the Internet, thanks for finding this post about this fabulous book (and now movie), Paper Towns. I am super excited that it’s now out in theatres!

After the success of The Fault In Our Stars (TFIOS), also written by John Green, I think it is great that another one of his books has been turned into a movie. I admire John Green so much for providing young people with such inspiring and thought provoking novels and it’s kind of really deserving to have them on the big screen.

What is ‘Paper Towns’ all about?

Quentin, or “Q”, is about to graduate from high school and go to a nice university. He’s a quieter kid who plays by the rules and likes the safety of knowing where he’s going in life. He has friends who play in the school band, and he has two best friends (Ben and Radar). Then one night, Margo Roth Speigelman climbs through his window and tells him she needs his car and that he has to go with her because about half of the 9 things she needs to do (or 11, in the book) require a get away man. She found out that her boyfriend was cheating on her with one of her best friends and she needed to wrong some rights and right some wrongs. She and Q embark on this mission. The next day she is missing, presumed to have run away from home. “Q” embarks on a search to find her. Paper Towns actually has some pretty powerful messages, like not judging a book by it’s cover, and not being afraid to challenge yourself and leave your comfort zone, and what it means to be a good friend.

Margo always loved mysteries. And in everything that came afterward, I could never stop thinking that maybe she loved mysteries so much that she became one. – written by John Green, Paper Towns

And all the great reviews… And a special premiere event in Canada/the USA

Apparently Paper Towns had already released in Brazil (and either Japan or Australia?) before it was released in Canada and the USA. The bright side? Werll, we all knew it was getting amazing reviews even before seeing the premiere (just watch the above YouTube video!). A second perk is that there would be a special event in select theatres around Canada and the USA where viewers could watch the movie and watch a live screening of John Green and the actors from the movie talking about the movie. I went to this special event (yay!). Honestly, this live streaming where they answered questions wasn’t quite as exciting as I thought it would be but I still thought it was cool to watch it.

The Movie…

I was impressed by Cara Delevigne. It was her first movie, apparently she has been a model up until this point. I was also happy that they picked her because I really liked how she brought the personality/character of Margo Roth Speigelman to life.

It was also nice to see Nat Wolff in another movie adaptation of John Green’s novels. He made as great of a Q/Quentin as he did an Issaac in TFIOS.

Basically, all of the acting was epic. I thought Ben and Radar were hilarious and I liked Angela and Laci too.

Oh, and that surprise appearance by Ansel Elgort, thank you for that. (What happened to that supposed cameo by John though?)

I think that they were really faithful to the book, without being word for word. I long ago accepted that film people cannot keep anything in books; like they cut all these sub-plots in Harry Potter (e.g. the house elf liberation front / S.P.E.W.) because sub plots can be distracting in a movie and somethings just can’t be expressed in a movie like they were in a book (e.g. when Katniss is thinking about stuff in the Hunger Games they had to externally express that).

I like the equal parts quirkiness and deep meaning that comes along with stories written by John Green. Paper Towns (the movie) kept all of that quirk and amazing deep meaning that I think is so important.

Going in, I kind of expected the movie to be the biggest deal for Nerdfighters, and it was, but I also think that non-Nerdfighters were looking forward to Paper Towns as well (not that I would know for certain, but my friend and I are geeky Nerdfighters… But my other friends who have gone or will go like John Green’s books). Any ways, it is such an anticipated movie for me and I hope that everyone else will go see it and love it like I did.

Leave a Reply

