Yes My Accent Is Real by Kunal Nayyar

Many people will recognize Kunal Nayyar as Rajesh Ramayen Koothrapalli (or just Raj) in The Big Bang Theory. As a big fan of the show, I was pretty excited when I realized that Kunal had written a memoir, Yes My Accent Is Real (although he mentioned in the book that he didn’t think he could really be writing a memoir in his 30’s and thought it was more like a collection of stories). In any case, the book was great. It was the perfect length (260 pages according to the version I had on my tablet) and it was a nice, light read that was both funny and serious when the occasion called for it.

One thing that I really loved about Kunal’s book (and other memoirs like it written by celebrities) is how it humanized Kunal. It’s really cool to read about the experiences celebrities have come to where they are, what their lives were like prior to fame and how it shaped who they are.

Kunal is one of the actors from The Big Bang Theory who I knew the least about. I think I knew the most about Kaley Cuoco-Sweeting (Penny) and Jim Parsons (Sheldon Cooper) as well Melissa Rauch (Bernadatte) and Mayim Bailik (Amy Farrah Fowler). Now, I think it is really great to get to know more about Kunal Nayyar too and learn about his struggles, culture shock and love in his life. I even learned that he has a master’s degree in theatre and a bachelor degree in business, which I think is very impressive.

I would strongly recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of either memoirs, The Big Bang Theory, or things such as struggles/growing up, love and cultural shock.

One thought on “Yes My Accent Is Real by Kunal Nayyar

  1. Pingback:  101 Books To Read | Always Fire and Honey

Leave a Reply

