Furiously Happy; A funny book about horrible things by Jenny Lawson

Jenny Lawson has (or had at the time of writing) a taxidermyed racoon. This is possibly one of the most bizarre and hilarious things I have ever read about in the opening chapters of a book, and I must admit that these little anecdotes went a lot way to getting me hooked on reading Furiously Happy.

Jenny Lawson is a blogger at The Bloggess and she very much likes to talk about her mental health (in the best way possible), at least in Furiously Happy (and other times by the sounds of it). I totally applaud her for being able to talk about her anxiety and depression in the way that is totally validating, enlightening, is a community building approach and tosses in a bunch of humour (see taxidermyed racoon, I also don’t think the dictionary wants to tell me how to spell taxidermyed or if it is really a word, so please excuse me). Jenny’s approach to talking about her marriage with Victor and her daughter, Hailey. I love that she has created this speaking about mental illness created a community of people who feel less alone knowing that others are out there an living with a mental illness.

I very much enjoyed reading Furiously Happy. It’s a wonderful combination of super funny and serious. It was about 369 pages on my tablet and I was able to glide through the book, making it a lighter and easier read. All in all, I am happy to say that this is yet another book in the actor/blogger/YouTube trend that I can recommend to others.

One thought on “Furiously Happy; A funny book about horrible things by Jenny Lawson

  1. Pingback:  101 Books To Read | Always Fire and Honey

Leave a Reply

