The Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith

IMG_0386The Career of Evil is the third book written by Robert Galbraith, who, if you don’t know, is really J.K. Rowling; she has a pseudonym.

In The Career of Evil, Cormoran Strike, a private detective, and his assistant/partner-in-training, Robin, are on the search for for a very twisted serial killer. The investigation was launched after they received a right leg that was cut off below the knee; exactly where Strike was amputated while he was working for the British military police in Afghanistan. There are 4 people who Strike think might be responsible. Meanwhile, they know this killer is personally stalking Robin and killing even more people. Each person becomes increasingly unlikely as the investigation continues.

I have to commend Rowling on the writing of The Career of Evil. I really like how she added a dark, creepy twist by adding chapters in the book told by the perspective of the killer; it added the twist, but she didn’t do it in a way that made you feel like you might have nightmares later (’cause no one needs that).

The relationship between Robin and Matthew, her fiancé, has become a little dicey. I must say, I’m not sure how I feel about the way it was left. It is what it is, and I guess that’s just how things probably go in reality (vague enough? I don’t want to give away too much), but I don’t really like Matthew and I would just sort of like it if they were totally over so he’d be gone. Maybe, in the next book I am expecting someday in the future, Matthew will begin to redeem himself so that maybe I won’t be so annoyed by his presence *fingers crossed*.

For a long time, I associated crime novels with cheap and creepy thrills. Novels like The Career of Evil have gone a long way to correct that idea that I had. Now that  I am on the 3rd of these books I am finding them more and more catching. I read the 500+ page book in 3 days; trust me, I could have been doing other stuff, I just didn’t want to put it down. Basically, it is an awesome book.

One thought on “The Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith

  1. Pingback:  101 Books To Read | Always Fire and Honey

Leave a Reply

