Slow Cooker Chipotle Chicken Chilli

Recipe selected: Slow Cooker Chipotle Chicken Chilli, found on epicurious.com

 

People love their slow cookers; apparently it makes cooking way more efficient (skips having to stand over a hot stove, that’s for sure), and it’s a fantastic way to make stews or pulled pork and apparently a zillion other things. Mine is new, so I am trying out my second recipe here in it. My first recipe tried was pulled pork, and it was fabulous.

Today, I am trying out Slow Cooker Chipotle Chicken Chilli, a recipe I got off epicurious, which is my go to website when I am looking for a new recipe that isn’t in one of my cookbooks.

img_0656

Changes that I made:

  • 1 whole yellow onion instead of 1/2 a red onion
  • 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes (I didn’t have the smaller can that the recipe recommended)
  • A handful of canned roasted red peppers,  a tablespoon of BBQ sauce and a teaspoon of chipotle powder instead of chipotle chile peppers and adabo sauce
  • Chilli powder because apparently I used up all my cumin on something else (so that’s going on the grocery list…)
  • Himalayan pink salt instead of kosher salt
  • I used frozen corn (it’s not a change, the recipe said to use fresh or frozen and I had frozen, so that is the choice I had)

img_0659

I’m off to do life things done for the next 8 hours now while it cooks up. I must admit, it’s actually super efficient so no wonder people love these things. In fact, I could have prepped everything last night or early this morning and dumped it all in and just turned it on this if I had been unable to be home early on. 

img_0661

The final touches includes juice from a lime stirred in and some parsley to garnish it. Lemon and lime juice is supposed to brighten up the flavour of things like soup and chilli, or so I was told.img_0663
Voila! Bon appetite. 

Get the recipe here – Slow Cooker Chipotle Chicken Chilli

To keep up to date on future recipes and other posts, you can subscribe to my blog by email or through your wordpress account. 

2 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Chipotle Chicken Chilli

  1. What are the orange chunks sitting next to the onions? Sweet potatoes?

    What are the beans on the left side of the picture? Limas? Blacks?

    Over all looks like a fantastic chili recipe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

