Making Macarons with Shay Mitchell and Dana’s Bakery

 

macaronmat      kit-product-img-01

Link to the baking mat    |  Link to the Macaron Making Kit

The baking mat and the macaron making kit are from Dana’s Bakery, which is in New York. From what I could see, they only deliver to the USA. I knew someone who could get it for me and send it on. If this isn’t an option, I’ve seen mats on Amazon. And maybe you could try emailing/phoning Dana’s Bakery and seeing in special arrangements could be made.

 

My macaron’s might not look as gorgeous as the ones that professional’s make but they are still very delicious and still have that harder outside and super soft inside. It was well worth the wait for the kit to be mailed to me. Seriously, I was really, really excited to be able to order a kit that would help me make macaron’s for the first time. It was straight forward and easy and the tutorial with Shay and Dana was enough to get me through the process. The hardest part was trying to get the eggs and sugar to turn into a proper meringue, but it was pretty darn close to perfect. I think the problem was that my egg whites weren’t quite fully at room temperature. Everything else was smooth sailing. I think that everything I’ve seen and heard so far is true; macarons are finicky, but I think that’s because of the meringue part, and they’ll still come out tasting delicious even if they may not look perfect. And all things considered, I think that my first shot turned out quite well. They taste super good, look like macaron’s should, and I can’t wait to try it from scratch now that I’ve tried this kit.

To keep up to date on future recipes and other posts, you can subscribe to my blog by email or through your wordpress account. 

One thought on “Making Macarons with Shay Mitchell and Dana’s Bakery

  1. Wow! This is something that I need to learn as my boys love macarons! I am new in baking, just started recently… Thank you for sharing this 🙂

    Please visit and follow my blog (www.lazymomcooking.wordpress.com) or my Instagram (lazymom_cooking) for some recipe ideas 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

