Review — The Only Pirate at the Party by Lindsey Stirling and Brooke S. Passey

OnlyPirateCoversmll-e1434831472865

I’m not sure how I originally learned about Lindsey Stirling or her memoir, The Only Pirate at the Party. It was sometime shortly after seeing this book that YouTube recommended her music videos, maybe because of all the videos I watch by Taylor Davis, who is another violinist who write a lot of original music and does covers or medley’s from video games and movies a lot. I must admit, Lindsey Stirling is all kinds of awesome; her music videos are very entertaining, and being a dancing violinist is pretty cool.

The Only Pirate at the Party is a great read. Lindsey wrote the book with her sister, Brooke. She discusses her childhood, her commitment to her religious beliefs, her struggles with an eating disorder, and her rise to fame and what it’s like to be on tour.

First of all, while I am not a religious person, I can totally respect Lindsey’s commitment to her beliefs. She talked about how it can be a challenge to sort of navigate between the rock and roll and the religious sphere’s of her lives which don’t overlap much. Thank goodness she has an amazing support system who also embrace her beliefs.

In addition, I admire people who are willing to open up about their challenges with things like anorexia (or, really any other mental health challenge or invisible health issue). It is still so stigmatized and I would like to see the stigma go away. Having the courage to talk about that is something I am sure will make a huge difference (and is making a difference).

One of the things I enjoyed about Lindsey the most is how unconventional she is, I loved how her quirky and entertaining personality showed through the book, and I loved how much she persevered to reach her goals.

I always love reading these sorts of memoirs because I always feel so inspired. Lindsey is the kind of person who reminds you that just because things aren’t always easy doesn’t mean that you won’t find something else that’s even more amazing and unexpected.

Needless to say, this is a great memoir and well worth a read.

Leave a Reply

