Coconut Water Fried Chicken

Coconut Water Fried Chicken is my second recipe that I am trying from the Lazy Mom Cooking blog. I picked it because it is so different from how I usually cook chicken. Fried chicken is amazing but the greasiness of it is terrible, so frying chicken in coconut water instead presented a delicious, healthier alternative. And it’s coconut! I get that coconut is one of those things where everyone seems divided, you love it or hate it, but I happen to be in the loving coconut camp. So here we go…

This is my favourite kind of coconut water. A lot of the other coconut waters I can find out there are flavoured (e.g. coconut mango), which is mostly great if you want to drink it for fun. I usually use coconut water for things like smoothies and cooking so I like this variation.

According to the recipe, I am supposed to boil the chicken. This is definitely one of the stranger ways that I’ve cooked chicken, but I’m sure it’ll be wonderful.

This is what the ground up shallots, garlic and cardamom looks like (it’s in the middle).

chicken and rice + some fruit on the side.

I changed the recipe a little; I used 2 chicken breasts, cut into chunks before cooking and I only cooked it for about 1 hour. I reduced the proportion of other ingredients accordingly. It was really tender, and super tasty. It didn’t have an overpowering coconut flavour, so if you don’t really like coconut much, then you may still like it.

So, voila and bon apetite!

To keep up to date on future recipes and other posts, you can subscribe to my blog by email or through your wordpress account. 

Leave a Reply

