Veggie filled & chicken slow cooker chilli

I made up a chilli recipe, which is a remarkably easy recipe concept to bend to suit your needs once you get the hang of it.

I’m not sure what exactly made me think of it, some how zucchini’s and chilli were on my mind at the same time so here we go.

Ingredients

  • Organic ground chicken or turkey (14 oz / 1 lb / .450-ish kg)
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1 zucchini
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 3 and 3/4 oz. shiitake mushrooms – this was 1 package that I de-stemmed
  • Black turtle beans – 97 g (equals 1/2 cup)
  • Red kidney beans – 97 g (equals 1/2 cup)
  • 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes
  • 2-ish cups of water
  • 4-5 garlic cloves
  • 1 tbsp chilli
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp oregano


Directions

Cut up all of the veggies and dump everything unceremoniously (or very ceremoniously) into your slow cooker. I set mine for 7 hours on low heat, but I would suggest 6-8 hours depending what’s up. If you have time to cook it longer, then go ahead.

Note1: I put rice into my bowl. Nice touch in my opinion.
Note2: I added water because my slow cooker is new and I can fully admit to still learning the ropes around what I can and can’t get away with, so I always add a little water so that I don’t have to watch it too closely in the event that it dries out. I could have probably used less water but it worked out quite nicely as it was.

4 thoughts on “Veggie filled & chicken slow cooker chilli

  1. You could use this base recipe and change Nationalities easily.

    Remove the cumin. Replace with fennel seed. Call it Italian.

    Remove the Cumin and Oregano. Replace with tomatoe paste and thyme. Call it British.
    Add barley and call it Scottish.

    Remove the cumin and Oregano. Add Tarragon, wine and porcini mushrooms. Call it French.

    Like

Leave a Reply

