Peanut-Chocolate Health Balls

I based this recipe on one I made a year or 2 ago. I didn’t know what went into the original, besides peanut butter, chocolate chips and oatmeal, so I made adjustments. I added a few super foods like chia seeds, and protein powder and maple syrup. It’s pretty good. 

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of oatmeal (or muesli or something else similar)
  • 1/4 – 1/3 cup peanut butter
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1 tbsp hemp seed
  • 1 tbsp chai seed
  • 1 tbsp milled flax meal
  • 2 – 3 tbsp maple syrup
  • 2 – 3 tbsp coconut milk (as needed to fully mix while still being firm) 


Directions

  • Stir the dry stuff together
  • Microwave the maple syrup and peanut butter for about 20 seconds so that it’s super soft and easier to mix
  • Stir it into the mix
  • Add coconut milk 
  • Make into balls – I used wax paper to form the balls so it wouldn’t stick to my hands (even though I totally used my hands to mix it lol) 

Options 

  • Next time, I might put in some strawberry jam or something like that (dried fruit?) for a PB&J effect. 
  • If you can get all the cool flavours that whey protein gives (alas, I am stuck with the lactose free vegan ones), then you could try for a cookies and cream effect – just maybe use a more neutral butter like sunflower 
  • Add cocoa 
  • Maybe add chili? Or sea salt? Or chocolate chips? Or caremal chips? Or caremal chips + sea salt? 
  • The options to try are so varied and endless. Enjoy. 


 

Leave a Reply

