Mexican Quinoa Salad 

I forgot to take a picture so I had to fet this from Pinterest http://pin.it/lxHJ0R1

I was inspired to make a Mexican quinoa salad after my in-laws made some a few weeks ago. I’m pretty sure mine is different, but I got the idea about what was supposed to go into it. The benefit is that when I made it, according to the ingredients alone, it made a number of meals, which is great for 2 people to get a few quick lunches out of. Plus, it’s good hot or cold and can last in the fridge for a longer than meat will, as long as its in an airtight container. Finally, I finally paid attention; beans have a lot of protein and low fat (about 9 g protein and 1.5 g fat). I think this is something that could have a lot of flexibility, such as adding cumin, even more chili, or baby corn.

Ingredients

  • 3 bell peppers – I used 1 red, 1 yellow & 1 orange
  • 1 onion
  • 2 cans of black beans (I think my cans were around 12 oz)
  • 2 cups of quinoa
  • 2 cups of salsa (basically one average sized can)
  • 1 tbsp of chili powder

Note that if I had prepared further ahead I would have used dried beans but they have to soak over night and take an extra 45 minutes to cook in a pot of boiling water and I was pressed for time so no. The benefit here is significantly less sodium because sodium isn’t needed to preserve it.

Directions

  • Cook quinoa according to package directions – it’s usually 1 cup of quinoa to 2 cups of water, boil water with quinoa already in then lower heat and cover until done (maybe give it 10 minutes to start?)
  • Fry onion, and add bell peppers and fry until softer, add in beans and fry for a while.
  • Pour cooked quinoa into the bean/onion/pepper mix and stir
  • Add in salsa and spices and stir.

I hope you enjoy this.

One thought on “Mexican Quinoa Salad 

Leave a Reply

