Gratin w. Shay Mitchell and Ian Harding

Ingredients

  • ⅓ cup / 75 ml plus 2 tsp extra -extra virgin olive oil, and more for the pan
  • 1 tbsp finely chopped fresh mint
  • 1 tbsp fresh orange juice
  • 1 tsp balsamic vinager
  • Kosher salt
  • 12 oz / 340 g zucchini (about 2 small)
  • 1½ lb / 680 g small ripe tomatoes (about 5)
  • 2 medium onions (about 10oz/285 g total), thinly sliced
  • ½ cup / 25 g fresh course breadcrumbs
  • ¾ cup / 25 g finely grated parmigiano-reggiano
  • 1 tbsp chipped fresh parsley

Directions

Watch the video for directions because that’s such a fun way to digest the directions regarding a recipe. 


Ok, so I had a ton of fun making this gratin. It’s the first time I have made a recipe strictly by watching a video and the ingredients listed. It’s ok to do it like that, as long as I prewar h watch it and then play and pause as I cook. 

The zucchini’s I bought at the farmers market were massive and I ended up with way more than expected. Which is ok, cause I’ll have a lot of leftovers for work lunches and I also have an extra zucchini for something else now. Zucchini muffins? Oh! Zucchini chocolate chip cookies. Sounds weird, but don’t knock it until you try it. 

So basically, the gratin is actually super delicious and I think I’ll cook it again. I’m kind of picky about my veggies, so it can be a challenge to find recipes that I genuinely enjoy and would cheerfully eat again – so feel free check gratin as a win on my imaginary  “yay, veggies” list. 

I partnered it with salmon that had some BBQ/maple kind seasoning on it. I think it would also good with any other meat though.


Leave a Reply

