Pasta à la Miscellany 

Pasta is my go to dish and I’m gradually getting better at making up my own recipes. This is my stab at a recipe including fancy roasted red peppers, porcini mushrooms, kale, onion, chicken and tomato paste. I chose to use tomato paste because I wanted a thicker sauce and not all the water and bulk that I find that crushed or diced tomatoes adds.

The main reason I was prompted to make this recipe is because I grew all of this kale in my garden and I haven’t really found a way that I enjoy eating it – the kale chips were a bust, not a favourite in my home – and so far I find that when kale is wilted/cooked in pasta then I really like it. It helps that my main issue with kale is the texture and not the flavour, it also helps that it’s pretty mild in taste.

It actually turned out really well. The fusilli noodles went really nicely with it. Plus it makes a super big recipe, and it’s not to heavy as far as pasta goes. Because roasted red peppers and porcini mushrooms have so much flavour on their own, I didn’t bother using wine or very much spices; I used maybe 1/2 tsp of oregano and thyme but no more then that.

Ingredients

  • 1 can – Pimentos del piquillo de lodosa – apparently, fancy roasted red peppers
  • 3 or 4 garlic cloves
  • About 2 cups of kale, ripped up
  • Porcini mushrooms, rehydrated, about 1/2 to 2/3 of a cup
  • 5.5 oz can of tomato paste
  • 1 medium yellow/sweet onion, chopped up
  • 2 bigger bone out chicken breasts
  • Noodles of choice
  • 2 tbsp of olive oil
  • A dash of oregano and thyme

 

 

Directions

  • Cut everything up that needs cutting and heat oil in pan
  • Fry the onion until soft and semi translucent. Add the garlic and fry for a few minutes
  • Add chicken and fry until mostly or totally cooked
  • Add the mushroom and roasted red pepper and let fry for a bit, maybe 4-5 minutes
  • Add tomato paste and let fry for a while
  • Add kale and cook until softer
  • Add in the dash of oregano and thyme
  • Cook noodles while all this is happening
One thought on “Pasta à la Miscellany 

  1. Iron Chef Andrea.
    Cook with what you have. And make it work.

    I’m impressed.

    I have a huge amount of Italian/Tuscan kale in the garden
    Apparently it handles frosts really well, so I will try your recipe after we’ve eaten all the tender frost sensitive first.

    Like

Leave a Reply

