Homemade chicken soup stock 

img_0567Chicken stock for soup (or really any kind of stock) tends t be super high in sodium when you get it at a grocery store. Of course, there are also low sodium and organic versions, which are great, but sometimes it is nice to have something homemade because then you can control what goes it it and how much salt goes in it etc.

In my experience, stock is pretty easy to make. All you need is water, some vegetables, bones (unless you want it to be vegetarian, in which case, skip the bones) and a big pot. The biggest issue, I’d imagine, is getting the bones. I know how many people are like myself and buy 99% of their meat at the grocery store, and with a few exceptions it tends not to have a ton of bones kicking about.

To solve the issue of having no bones, we’d buy the odd rotisserie chicken and strip off the meat to eat and keep the bones in the freezer for later (includes the body, 2 wings and 2 legs) . You could do the same with the bones from lamb chops, T-bone steaks, and so forth. Once I had 3-4 chickens, I decided I’d better get a move on because our freezer is only so big.

Ingredients

  • 3-4 chicken bones (again — body, 2 arms, and 2 legs)
  • 2 really big carrots
  • 1 big sweet / yellow onion
  • 3-4 celery stalks
  • Salt and pepper
  • 14 cups of water.

Directions

  • Chop up the carrots, onion, and celery – don’t worry about uniformity
  • Put everything into a big soup pot
  • Raise to a boil for a few minutes
  • And lower to a simmer for a few hours – I let mine go for about 3 hours because I wanted the flavour to be as strong as I could allow for

Note

  • Keep the stock frozen in containers until you use it because it’ll go bad if you don’t use it reasonably soon because there aren’t any preservatives in it
  • My stock has a colourful note on top because I didn’t manage to get every scrap off of the rotisserie chicken – I’m calling it free flavouring
  • Buy a fat strainer – it was really helpful when I was pouring the stock into containers because it allowed me to easily get rid of any excess fat on the top
  • You can probably Google ways to make vegetable-only stock OR to add any other special flavours. I choose to keep mine pretty plain so that I can spice it up when I make the soup, risotto etc, it beats working around a preexisting spice palette but that choice might not be the right choice for everyone else.
One thought on “Homemade chicken soup stock 

  1. If you don’t have frozen bones from left overs– buy some chicken wings. Cut them up a bit. Roast on a pan at 450F until nicely browned. Turn them once of twice during roasting.
    It’ll take 30-45 minutes.
    Fairly cheap and a fast way to get the meat base for stock

    Like

Leave a Reply

