Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them; The background and some thoughts on the matter…

Sometime while writing the Harry Potter books, JK Rowling also took the time to write a few companion books that were “real” wizarding books within the Harry Potter universe. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by Newt Scamander, The Tales of Beedle and the Bard notes by Professor Albus Dumbledore, and Quidditch Through the Ages by Kennilworthy Whisp. I forget when exactly the books were published, but the ideas were as followed:

  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by Newt Scamander was written by a magizoologist and he travelled the world to discover and learn about these creatures in the 1800’s. The book is used for the Care of Magical Creatures class.
  • The Tales of Beedle and the Bard notes by Professor Albus Dumbledore is a book of fairy tale stories told to wizarding children was passed on to Hermione and helped defeat Voldemort oddly enough.
  • Quidditch Through the Ages by Kennilworthy Whisp is a book that Hermione gifted to Harry, who is a really big fan of Quidditch, which is like the soccer, football and hockey (all rolled together) of the wizarding world.

The part of the Harry Potter world that is centred around Fantastic Beasts was fleshed out on Pottermore over the last year or 2. So if you go check that out on Pottermore you can learn a ton more about the wizard world in North America and about Newt Scamander.

 

If you’ve been living under a rock (or just aren’t a pop culture junkie like I am), then I’ll catch you up: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is officially a movie!

I loved Fantastic Beasts. Newt Scamander is a young man who has been traveling the world and working on a book about magical /fantastic beasts and actually has a ton of magic animals living in his suitcase. He is trying to educate wizarding world about these creatures with whom he relates better to than with humans. Gindelwald is also on the lose – you learn that he’s another “big, bad” wizard in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, and he’s obviously supposed to be the big bad guy in Fantastic Beasts. To be frank, I didn’t really give a darn about Gindelwald for most of the movie, even I knew he was probably working the strings behind the scenes and I suspected this Agent Graves dude who was either posing as Gindelwald or working for him. I was mostly interested in how amazing Eddie Redmayne was as Newt; he was so delightfully awkward and entertaining at the same time. I also loved Tina, Kowalski and Queenie. Tina was fun, and I liked how she was kind of defiant and willing to bend rules but also very dedicated to doing the right thing. Kowalski was just funny in a super nice, bumbling kind of way, he made me laugh but he was also the kind of character you really love because he’s got a lot of depth. Queenie I liked just because she seemed like she was a bit of an air head, but she obviously wasn’t because she was really skilled at legilimens – if  you ever read the Harry Potter books, you’ll know that it takes a lot of skill and training to get good at this kind of magic, so she’s obviously very bright, even if her external demeanour would suggest otherwise.

I am really excited for the upcoming movies because I want to learn more about Newt, the wizarding world  in the 1920’s, and there are even romours of learning more about Grindelwald’s and Dumbledore’s relationships.

I wish I could talk more about this but I have a new job and I don’t have the time I wish i did to keep talking about this for too long. I just wanted to get a few thoughts out there while the movie is still fresh in my mind.

Leave a Reply

