Reading Texts As Sacred

I have been listening to Harry Potter and the Sacred Text, which is a podcast. I have really been enjoying it and thought  it might be fun to try to take a stab at reading a few books as sacred on my own and see how it goes. It might be a little rough around
13100840_510304832487227_8748098135932138631_n.jpgthe edges at first, but there are a few books that really hit home for me that I would like to be able  to revisit. I will not be reading Harry Potter, even though I have alway been The Harry Potter Person because they are already doing it, so I would just feel like I was rehashing what I listen to each week.

I am going to explain how to do Reading a Sacred Text based on my listening of the podcast. I am by no means an expert though and am only providing a starting place, I would really like to encourage anyone who thinks this sounds interesting img_0606to check out Harry Potter and the Sacred Text and maybe keep an eye on my blog.

I am going to start doing this sometime in the new year when I am finished a few book that I currently have on my plate. Some books I would like to revisit are:

  • Girl Overboard
  • The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, Mockingjay
  • Lord of the Rings – The Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towers, and The Return of
    imgres.jpgthe King

I think that 7 books is a great start for now.

How I will be trying to read books as sacred

I am basing my process on how Harry Potter and the Sacred Text has been handled thus far. I will hopefully improve it as I go and become more conscious of how they do things.

I wlotr111ill be reading 1 chapter at a time, and picking a theme, I don’t really know how else to decide on a theme (e.g. love, compassion, rebellion, confusion) without understanding what happens in the chapter first.

I will automatically try to relate the story to something in real life, whether it is my own life or in the news, for contexts sake. I will also share a “30 second recap”, but written.

From there, I will talk about the significant moment or plot line that triggered my choice of the theme. I will talk about it and unpack it for the real world.I will also talk about any other significant moments of confusion in the chapter as they arise. One example is how they used confusion for the chapter in the Chamber of Secrets whre Malfoy called Hermione a filthy little mudblood, and Harry and Hermione didn’t even know what the word meant only that it was bad. It was the initial conusion over what the word meant, and then the confused existential moment of “why is this happening?”; I hope they’ll be ok with me borrowing this example.

Then I will bless someone in the chapter and explain why.

I iwll also do Lectio Devina, which is hopefully not terribly spelled. This will basically consist of picking a sentence at random, reading it, literally explaining it, breaking it down for discussion, and thinking about how it can be used in real life.

If this is something you think sounds interesting, I hope this will

Reading Harry Potter As Sacred

Leave a Reply

