The Kane Chronicles, 1-3, by Rick Riordan

6b94c44216f3a9af97df86c3dc2a271dI decided to review the Kane Chronicles series all in 1 blog post. When I reviewed the last 2 series by Rick Riordan I started to feel like a broken record. Since this series only consisted of 3 books (vs. 5) it is a little easier for me to read them close together and review them together. So, without giving away too much…

Summary of The Red Pyramid

The Red Pyramid immediately got off to a better start than Rick Riordan’s previous series, The Heroes of Olympus. It begins with two siblings, Sadie and Carter. Their dad goes missing and is possibly dead. They find out that they’re magicians and that the ancient Egyptian gods and goddesses are real. The being who represents Chaos is on the rise and they must race to stop him and save their dad…

Summary of The Throne of Fire

Carter’s and Sadie’s dad is now the host for Osiris, the god of the dead. They are trying to teach other kids who have the blood of the Pharaoh the path of the Gods. Basically this means a bunch of kids have an ancient Egyptian bloodline and the ability to be magicians. Apophis, the evil guy, is still on the rise. Plus, a lot of other wizards are against Carter and Sadie because they’re either evil themselves or just woefully misinformed. They meet Bes, who is basically a really ugly dwarf who scares people by going “boo”.

Summary of The Serpent’s Shadow

Things really didn’t improve by this book. They actually spend a lot of time in the underworld. And, of course, there is the penultimate battle, which they win.

Final thoughts 

The Kane Chronicle’s are set in the same universe as Rick Riordan’s previous series, Percy Jackson and the Olympians and The Heroes of Olympus. Thankfully, Riordan gave us a break and didn’t bring Percy, Jason, Annabeth or any of the others into the series. It’s not that I don’t like them, but I definitely welcomed a break from those people after 10 books worth of them. But I still love Rick Riordan’s books, so it was really enjoyable to keep reading his books. He did allude to other gods though; Carter’s and Sadie’s uncle said that they couldn’t go to Manhattan because of “other forces” there and readers who are familiar with the previous series know that Mount Olympus is located over the Empire State Building in Manhattan.

I also liked The Kane Chronicle’s a lot more than The Heroes of Olympus. I felt like I was dragging my feet a little bit during The Heroes of Olympus, at least in the first 2 books. I think that Carter and Sadie were also more mature than the other characters were when the series started.

The only thing I was confused about was where the “ankle biters” parents were. Sadie and Carter were responsible for training these kids in magic, and that’s ok, presumably these kids parents know something about it and are “in” on the secret etc. But it was never clear why a bunch of very young children were able to be left in their care and there were no parents checking in and the only “supervision” were a bunch of teenagers who, frankly, seemed too busy saving the world, learning magic, and attending “norma” school to properly care for a bunch of toddlers. So I’d love to know if Rick Riordan just thought it was a given that the parents were obviously in some way around.

Any ways, they’re definitely good books, so check it out.

Series: The Kane Chronicles

Author: Rick Riordan

Publisher: Disney Hyperion Books

Genre: Young adult, Fantasy, Egyptian mythology

Book 1: The Red Pyramid

Publication: May 4, 2010

Book 2: The Throne of Fire

Publication: May 3, 2011

Book 3: The Serpent’s Shadow

Publication: May 1, 2012


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s